Thu, May 16, 11:15 PM CDT

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 May 16 5:41 pm)

Subject: Estacy of Composition

Fidelity2 ( ) posted Tue, 15 November 2011 at 12:53 PM · edited Thu, 21 March 2024 at 10:39 PM

Dear Friends:

How can I improve my aesthetics composition skills to create breathtaking landscape matte paintings? How can I learn to create breathtaking cityscape matte paintings?  I would like to create images as beautiful as Dylan Coyle does. I would like to create CGI images as beautiful as those created for Avatar and Star Wars II.

I have been doing art for about twenty years. So I have a bit of experience. I have bough many tutorilas from The Gnomon Workshop. And many others too. I have a B.F.A. I still have learned nothing.

I was also facinated by the image titled "Another Hidden Civilazation". I saw it at E-onsoftware under Cornucopia3D under Gallery under Cream of the Crop. What are the usefull themes that make such image unique?

The bottom line is that my birthday and Chritsmass are right around the corner. My Mother is getting me CGI tutorials as gifts. The questions is wich ones/from where. What do you guys suggest my Mother is to buy for me to improve my CGI artwork. I have a gallery here at Renderosity under the handle named Fidelity2. You can take it look to get an idea of what I need to improve upon. Thanks.

Sincerely,

Fidelity2.

ShawnDriscoll ( ) posted Tue, 15 November 2011 at 3:27 PM

Take a look at Mattingly's book, "The Digital Matte Painting Handbook".

www.youtube.com/user/ShawnDriscollCG

agiel ( ) posted Tue, 15 November 2011 at 10:14 PM

I you are going for tutorials as gifts, I could not recommend more 'Becoming a better artist' - a CG Talk Workshop with Robert Chang.

His critiques are very frank and they can sting (a lot) but they are always followed by explanations about what you are doing wrong and how you can improve.