Tue, May 28, 9:08 PM CDT

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 May 28 9:01 pm)

Subject: Importing obj files into Poser

cmcarle ( ) posted Thu, 09 February 2017 at 2:11 PM · edited Wed, 22 May 2024 at 4:14 AM

Hey, I'm new at Poser and I have a question. When I try to import an obj, Collada or any other 3d file from outside of poser the textures do not import correctly. Sometimes the textures are not there and sometimes they are just a different color. I have been exporting my obj files with an mtl file and have been using C4D to export them. Any idea how to fix this?

cmcarle ( ) posted Thu, 09 February 2017 at 3:11 PM

I believe I found the answer in the Poser FAQ section. It must be UV mapped. Any easier method than this?

RorrKonn ( ) posted Fri, 10 February 2017 at 3:57 PM

.dout its the uvs.textures might be upside down .

============================================================ 

The Artist that will fight for decades to conquer their media.
Even if you never know their name ,your know their Art.
Dark Sphere Mage Vengeance

tonyvilters ( ) posted Sat, 11 February 2017 at 4:23 AM

The obj file contains the geometry and the UV_Map. (The UV map is required to tell the app how and where the texture goes. The mtl file (that comes with the obj file) tells the app what texture to put on what polygons. The textures.

That are the 3 files you need. Once in Poser and the texture applied and saved by Poser you only need the obj file and the cr2 or pp2. => You can delete the mtl file as it is not required any more.

Almost all 3D apps can create UV-Maps on obj files like UV_Mapper, Wings, Blender, Roadkill, to name a few of the free 2D apps.

RorrKonn ( ) posted Sat, 11 February 2017 at 12:13 PM

I've never used Collada so I don't know how well it works between C4D n Poser.

I'm sure .obj will work thou. between C4D n Poser.

any app can use flat uvmaps.