Wed, May 29, 6:45 AM CDT

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 May 28 10:57 am)

Subject: Can someone point me to a good lighting tut for 4.9?

drifterlee ( ) posted Thu, 28 January 2016 at 5:33 PM ยท edited Sun, 26 May 2024 at 5:16 AM

Can someone point me to a good lighting tut for 4.9? The ones on the Internet even at Daz are for older versions of Studio and the interface has changed. I tried to follow some of them but being new to Studio does not help me. A basic lighting tut would be good for Studio. Some of the building figures and environments have no lights in them. I'm not too good at adding lighting in the rooms. Poser was no problem. Thanks

Tirenzi3D ( ) posted Fri, 29 January 2016 at 12:52 AM

You may want to download this starter scene and observe what is possible with Iray and maybe work from there:

http://sickleyield.deviantart.com/art/Iray-Scene-For-Time-Benchmarks-519528033

drifterlee ( ) posted Fri, 29 January 2016 at 7:11 AM

Thank you!!!!!

ldgilman ( ) posted Fri, 29 January 2016 at 9:39 PM

I agree...THANK YOU!!!!!

bhoins ( ) posted Sat, 30 January 2016 at 7:02 PM

Best way to learn lighting in Iray is to use photographic lighting tutorials.

Tirenzi3D ( ) posted Sat, 30 January 2016 at 10:03 PM

bhoins posted at 10:01PM Sat, 30 January 2016 - #4252238

Not only! i agree if you say that one only uses an HDRI, that is not good anymore, you can set the HDRI intensity very low and use photometric lights. The more lights the faster iray renders ( so i have heard). But dont underestimate the power of the Sun-Sky light, i think that one is most powerfull but for a lot of people also the hardest.

bhoins ( ) posted Sat, 30 January 2016 at 11:23 PM

Tirenzi3D posted at 10:21PM Sat, 30 January 2016 - #4252270

bhoins posted at 10:01PM Sat, 30 January 2016 - #4252238