Sat, Jun 15, 2:14 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Jun 14 12:05 pm)

Subject: Realistic daylit interiors in Vue 5?

dangeroux ( ) posted Wed, 23 November 2005 at 10:15 AM · edited Tue, 19 December 2023 at 3:12 PM

file_306441.jpg

Hi,

How can Vue 5 be set up to realistically bounce daylight into room interiors? I'm an architect and have used Vue for over a year to produce renders of proposed buildings, but find I have to fake interior views with lots of ambient light or additional point lights as sunlight doesn't bounce into rooms as it would in reality. Is this simply a limitation of Vue 5?

In the upper attached image there is a concrete shelf below the horizontal slit opening on the the right side, but as I've had to add ambient light to get a generally daylit look to the room, there are no shadows under the shelf and it's become very difficult to distinguish from the wall. As shown in the lower image, when I turn ambient light off the image is almost completely black with only very slight reflected light. I have spent literally hundreds of hours experimenting with atmosphere and rendering settings, but am now beginning to wonder if I'm missing something really obvious. I would be very, very grateful for any advice.

Thanks in advance,
Jackson

RyanSpaulding ( ) posted Wed, 23 November 2005 at 10:37 AM

You are using Global Radiosity, correct?

-Ryan Spaulding
 VueRealism.Com

dangeroux ( ) posted Wed, 23 November 2005 at 11:02 AM

file_306442.jpg

Yep, here's a screenshot of my settings. Jackson

Orio ( ) posted Wed, 23 November 2005 at 12:04 PM

would you mind sharing the scene for testing?

mstnicholas1965 ( ) posted Wed, 23 November 2005 at 1:52 PM

Perhaps increase the setting for Ambient/Sunlight towards sun and decrease the setting for Uniform/From Sky. Also you might want to check "Volumetric Sunlight" in the Fog/Haze menu.