Sun, Jun 2, 1:51 AM CDT

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Jun 01 6:55 pm)

Subject: DAZ vs Poser and basic license question

Grexx ( ) posted Wed, 07 May 2014 at 8:54 AM · edited Sat, 01 June 2024 at 8:48 AM

Hello,

I am a neophyte when it comes to 3D design, my creative pursuits and career involve creative writing. I am a terrible visual artist.

That's why I am excited to get into the world of Poser and/or Daz. This allows me to conceptualize characters like never before.  These programs may also actually allow me to do some of my own art on projects. A very alluring and heretofore unrealized dream.

But I have questions: 

I have downloaded DAZ and have played around with it.  I have purchased various items such as clothing and characters (the Victorias). The clothing and items I have downloaded do not seem to work properly and some do not work at all. I have downloaded these from the DAZ store itself so it is puzzling why they do not function. I am sure there is some tweaking that can remedy this BUT......

I have seen Poser and the features it contains (like the clothing room!) and wow that's perfect for someone with a limited skill set like myself.  In edition it seems that DAZ products are complicated, this thing is used for Victoria or Aiko or something else whereas Poser items are just billed as "X version and up."

It seems to me if I plan to buy other aritist's work regularly Poser would be infinitly easier. Is this a safe assumption?

Lastly, suppose I purchase a figure designed by an artist and use it in a work, would I owe residuals to that artist? Is it even worth it to buy other artist's work. I have read Renderosity's legal page and it seems that, of course, the artist retains ownership, but I purchase a license; does that license allow me to use artist created puchased content in a creative for profit work?