VideoVista Movie Review

LillianH · March 19, 2004 7:34 pm

Click here to read the VideoVista review of this movie!

"The Best of Renderosity", created by Steve Finch (aka Spike), is a true "Art Enthusiast" experience. Original music sets the mood as you travel through a visual wonderland of images from some of the best artists within the Renderosity Community. A creative journey through a dazzling array of genres and expressions from all over the world, that flows with artistic vision and choreography. This is no slide show. The one hour and twelve minute exhibition will leave you wanting more. 65 artists are featured within 10 separate scenes, animated introduction and scene selection interface, and a bonus section from Renderositys Artist of the Year enax. Only $9.95! (plus shipping and handling)
ORDER YOURS TODAY!
Sample movie clips from the DVD are available here!
It is with sincere gratitude and admiration, that we acknowledge all the artists that contributed to this amazing collaboration.
You have made your mark in the evolution of art
Artist Credits:

  • AgentSmith
  • AlexCzarniak
  • alvinylaya
  • Andygraph
  • Armands
  • azaghot
  • beton
  • bevchiron
  • brylaz
  • christianfly
  • ckeri
  • crommcruac
  • deadhead
  • DeZ
  • Dotthy
  • EngleWolf
  • erka
  • flakmonkey
  • fractalexpo
  • frankfunk
  • gallimel
  • gevidal
  • gunsan
  • hyperborea
  • Incarnadine
  • ivo-k
  • jjsmlee
  • Kate
  • kromekat
  • larissad
  • legobrick
  • Lon Chaney
  • luciferino
  • MarioG
  • Matthieu
  • max-
  • miyu
  • Mrdodobird
  • nitro115
  • pmermino
  • pmoores
  • prutzworks
  • pushinfaders
  • racin-jason
  • ritter
  • rj001
  • Rochr
  • rohi
  • rollmops
  • Rykk
  • sbleci
  • Schoemann
  • SeanE
  • SkoolDaze
  • sms
  • SoundChaser
  • stealthman
  • Stevew
  • Synapse
  • ternald
  • the hankster
  • ToxicAngel
  • Tugmaster
  • vbarreto
  • zfigure7

Production and Original Soundtrack by:

  • Spike
Graphic1893.jpg
Message1641500.jpg
Graphic1895.jpg
ORDER YOURS TODAY!

Article Comments


Spike ( posted at 12:00AM Fri, 02 April 2004

Let me be the first to say.. Thank you to the artists that made it on this DVD. This was only possable because of your outstanding works of art. Spike

SeanE ( posted at 12:00AM Fri, 02 April 2004

beauty - but I gotta get hold of a DVD player now so I can watch it..or will it work on a normal CD-ROM drive as well...?

altarafive ( posted at 12:00AM Sat, 03 April 2004

Arrived in the mail today.. A spectacular work on all counts. I think it creates a wonderful "photograph" of a lot of what went on on here last year. (Note that I didn't say "snapshot".. ;) So many works that I didn't get to see, yet they took my breath away, again and again.. Thank you Spike for your efforts on this.. the pan, scan, music, etc. made the disc even better.. :)

Seadreamer ( posted at 12:00AM Sun, 04 April 2004

The art is amazing and the selection process was very successful. If you're worried about being besieged with poser-boobs, don't be. There are far fewer than I had expected. What you WILL see spans the full range from provocative, edgy, fresh and funny to heartbreaking beautiful. It really brings home the caliber of artists who post here, and quite humbled me with my amateur attempts. This is definitely professional level work. You might not like everything you see here, but I dare you to watch it and be unmoved. Spike did a fantastic job putting this together, even if the camera spirals almost got to the point of making me a litte queasy. lol Just a personal preferance. The one truly jarring note for me is SO nitpicking I hesitate to mention it, but... There is either a typo of a gramatical error in the first full-screen quote, "to" used where "too" should be. Eh, so I'm picky about that. The music ranges from truly wonderful to a bit distracting. It's a wonderul DVD. Shell out the bucks people. Buy this one. You won't be sorry you did.

met3112 ( posted at 12:00AM Sun, 04 April 2004

The DVD arrived in the mail today! I was very excited to check it out. I was not disapointed in the least bit. The only thing that I disliked about it is that it makes my work look very first gradish! Most definitly worth the 10 bucks, buy it.

bclaytonphoto ( posted at 12:00AM Thu, 08 April 2004

My DVD arrived today....Spike did an excellent job... Congrats to all the artists who made the DVD... Obviously, I've missed some great art here...Spend the $$$, buy the DVD...

stealthman ( posted at 12:00AM Fri, 09 April 2004

Spike - you did an incredible job with this DVD! I was very curious as to how you were going to present the still images, and was delighted to find the great fluidity of your editing on this. Wonderful to behold - and an excellent way of displaying images from Renderosity! It looks like an incredible amount of time and effort went into this on your part - bravo! And thanks for the incredible compilation of amazing art!

max- ( posted at 12:00AM Mon, 12 April 2004

For a while I actually thought this was some sort of a trick, some type of a shady gimmick, or some weird scam, but to my surprise this mysterious DVD actually shoved up in my mailbox and it's not only real, but stunningly great. Good work! :)

rollmops ( posted at 12:00AM Tue, 13 April 2004

Got it today.wonderful work ,Spike :))

crrunchyfrog ( posted at 12:00AM Thu, 15 April 2004

Beautifully composed Spike, a truly pleasurable experience, thank you so much for putting it together :)

Holli ( posted at 12:00AM Fri, 16 April 2004

A must for everyone interested in digital arts. You can put me on the pre-order list for "Best of 2004" already.

WorldbuilderMedia ( posted at 12:00AM Wed, 28 April 2004

This is an incredible production, and very inspiring. A great "time capsule". And Spike you did a great job on the soundtrackm na! Now, you know I'm gonna be buggin' ya to do some collaborations, right...?

Spike ( posted at 12:00AM Sat, 01 May 2004

Sure thing! It would be cool to do a collaborations on something. Thanks to everyone, this DVD would not be good without all the great art from the artists

Peyote ( posted at 12:00AM Sat, 01 May 2004

Is it available in Pal or only NTSC?

luciferino ( posted at 12:00AM Tue, 04 May 2004

Fantastic!!!!!! I have received the DVD only three days ago and I will already have seen it at least 10 times, Doesn't are not go crazy it is only that the mix between images and sounds, is so attractive and perfect, that have remained spellbound. Spike and the whole staff have done a really exceptional job, the care for the details, the transparency of the images and the sounds, doesn't have anything to envy to a great production. Thank you for having given me the possibility to see to a so beautiful show to the limits of the human imagination. Thanks kisses Orietta

Mechanismo ( posted at 12:00AM Fri, 23 July 2004

i saw the previews looks bloody good, i shaleth start saving.... :) ...would love to know what soft ware you used to create the dvd, and the music!! ... :D

Spike ( posted at 12:00AM Fri, 30 July 2004

I used Sony Vegas to build up the animations and Acid pro to make all the music.

oiram ( posted at 12:00AM Sat, 31 July 2004

i mis some great artist in the list. i dont have the dvd i life in holland. you only can buy by creditcard.

frndofyaweh ( posted at 12:00AM Mon, 06 September 2004

Ironically; I would GLADLY pay just ten bucks,.....for just one piece of the fine art in this movie! I do not however, feel compelled to by a DVD of still pictures. I can't hang them where they will enhance anything! Or bring enjoyment to visitors of my abode. Animations on a DVD: A BIG YES!!!!! I would pay twenty bucks even!

SndCastie ( posted at 12:00AM Mon, 20 September 2004

I really enjoy watching this Spike and can't wait to see what you come up with next. :O)

tykey ( posted at 12:00AM Sun, 03 October 2004

breathtaking artwork and a high quality DVD. I thoroughly enjoyed the entire product. Yeah, it makes me want more, but it also makes me jealous! :-D

sebasong ( posted at 12:00AM Mon, 04 October 2004

I really like it.

FranEllis ( posted at 12:00AM Sat, 16 October 2004

Sounds GREAT but how bout a CD version. I don't have a DVD player and I'ld imagine most people have CD players rather than DVD so it'ld probably bring in more customers on CD.

prutzworks ( posted at 12:00AM Wed, 20 October 2004

gratz with 8 out of 10 rating on video vista