Fri, Apr 19, 9:18 AM CDT

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Apr 19 8:49 am)

Subject: Am I missing something?

arrowhead42 ( ) posted Wed, 22 September 2021 at 7:21 PM · edited Thu, 18 April 2024 at 9:31 AM

Hi everyone,

I need to ask a question, but feel like I'll regret it soon afterward when I realize what I'm doing wrong. But after a day and a half of trying to puzzle it out, I must ask for help.

I don't create figures (.cr2) very often, but I've made a few. Obviously by this post you'll see I'm no expert, but a part time hobbyist and somewhat new vendor. I'm working with a newer version of Poser (Poser 11 Pro) since the last time I made a figure for distribution a year ago and perhaps that is why I'm asking "am I missing something?".

I made a model of a motorcycle. There is a prop (.pp2) representing the body, and one representing the forks, which are parented to the body. I loaded the prop(s) into a scene and using the hierarchy editor menu, converted it into a .cr2. Now I want to make the forks steerable. Using the parameters palette, I click on the properties tab and then "display origin".

Here's the problem.... I can't seem to modify the origin along anything except the X, Y or Z axes. A motorcycle fork is angled froward from the handlebars to the wheel, not the Y axis which is straight up and down. Seems to me that in the older version of Poser, I was able to rotate the origin itself along any one of the 3 axes, so it would tilt in any direction, thus allowing me to make a more accurate angle of rotation for a body part, in this case, motorcycle forks. If I remember correctly, I did this somewhere in the Joint editor menu. In this newer version, I'm only able to move the center point of the origin along the X, Y or Z axis, and I'm unable to rotate the origin. I can find no help in the users guide.