Forum: DAZ|Studio

Subject: Easy way to install all Daz content

PaulHairy opened this issue on May 22, 2018 ยท 49 posts

PaulHairy posted Sat, 07 July 2018 at 6:01 AM

Hi, Thanks for your interest in DAZ Auto Installer.

The reason I started developing it in the first place was because I had downloaded loads of free content from all over the place. I then spent hours looking on the internet for tutorials that would tell me where all of the files needed to be copied in order to make them usable in DAZ Studio.

I found most of these tutorials confusing however by trial and error I managed to get the content to work. Because I am a programmer I decided I would try to automate the process and thus DAZ auto installer was born.

The first stage was making a program able to examine the entire contents of a folder and locate all files and folders usable by DAZ Studio. The next stage was to add support for Archive files. This was a learning curve in itself because the information on extracting files is even harder to find than the information on the DAZ folder structure.

Just exacting the file to the library folder is not enough, because as I am sure you are aware, When people create the archive files(zip , rar ,7zip) they don't use a standardized method therefore the required files could be anywhere within the archive.

What I decided to do to solve this was inspect every DAZ object file and create a list of its dependent files and the locations where they need to be. Once I have this list I search the archive for each file and extract it to the correct location within the DAZ studio library folder structure.