Welcome to the Maya Forum

Forum Moderators: nemirc, Modulok

Maya F.A.Q. (last updated 2007-08-14 14:27:14)


 

Maya Gallery

Checkout the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: Please list your graphics card...

Author
Message

Modulok  Online Now!

Forum Moderator

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Tue, Dec 14, 2004 6:57 pm, Edited Sat, Sep 10, 2005 1:56 am

I thought I'd make this thread as it may be quite useful to those seeking new/different graphics cards. The Maya qual charts are great, but they don't include all cards and driver combinations out there.

Please list the graphics card make and model you use with Maya, as well as the driver version you're using, and if you've soft or hard moded your card. (i.e softquadro etc.) Then list any Maya related problems or issues you've run into, i.e. lock ups, system crashes, screen flickers, paint fx won't render in hardware or is really slow, artisan brush refresh problems, current time indicator color issues, keyframe color tick issues etc etc. Any contributions to this thread would be greatly appriciated by all. This thread will become available below the forum banner in the sticky links.

I'll go first I guess.
----------------------

Card: Nvida Quadro 4 900XGL
Driver version: 61.76

Known problems: I haven't experienced any in the two years I've used this card.


I'll get back here and post my brothers configuration to add to the list later tonight if I can.

Thanks guys!
-Modulok-

____________________
By God, we're gonna do something about nothing.

Quote  Report Print Save

jeremym  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2004 12:41 am

well I might as well add mine to the list. I


Card: Nvidia GeForce 5200FX Not modded.
Driver Version: 66.93

No problems yet. this is a new driver. Some older drivers caused no perspective display at all.

Jeremy

Quote  Report Print Save

Shayder  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2004 1:29 am

Ati Fire Gl T2 128.

I downloaded the newest drivers recently which ATI said was updated for Maya and now I do not get the dragging outline in any of my viewports and other windows like hypershade. This has become annoying. I tried going back to an older driver but it still wouldn't work.

That's all that comes to mind right now as far as issues.

Quote  Report Print Save

flakmonkey  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2004 5:08 am

ati radeon 9800xt
i think im on driver version 4.12 or something like that.
i would in no way say this card is good for maya the persp view becomes a 1fps slideshow at around 500`000 polys (with res of 1280*1024)

Quote  Report Print Save

Sue88  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2004 7:39 am

nVidia Quadro FX 500
Driver: 60.85
No problems.

Great idea, Mod!

Quote  Report Print Save

Phlegm_Thrower  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2004 8:07 am

Old ATI Radeon 9700PRO

Driver updated last august so im not sure which version... i think it's 4.9 or something.

Three problems:
1. Ghosting trail with Artisan Brush.
2. Blurry words and numbers in Hypergraph/Shade, viewport. (see image)
3. Extreme zooming in on image plane squashes the image, used to be worse with only a small amount of zoom squashing the image before i updated the driver.

2.8 fps on around 135k poly but that's understandable since it's only an almost 2 years old 128mb card.

Runs Doom3 on High Quality setting fine with no noticable lag though.

Quote  Report Print Save

Sadicus  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2004 11:40 am

ATI Mobility Radeon 9700
Driver Version: 6.14.10.6396

The Card was set-up by default to display at 127 dpi which will ruin Maya windows (you can't see them!) I'm sure in a panic i posted something obout it here! I thought something was wrong with the Maya install, but I backed it down to 72 Dpi and No problems yet.

Quote  Report Print Save

Hawke  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2004 1:48 pm

Nvidia Quadro 4 750XGL
Driver 61.76

No problems I'm aware of

Quote  Report Print Save

PalmerPolanski  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2004 2:01 pm

GeForce4 Ti 4600
had it for a year no problems .
PP

Quote  Report Print Save

vespertilum  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2004 4:53 pm

An old Matrox G450 DualHead.
It has only 32MB, but it is needed about 50 materials to make hypershade slow. About rendering panels it runs fine until raising 5 characters (Poser high resolution with clothes).
About desktop it is very good.

One problem in Linux: with a not fine configuration in dual mode (not OPENGL and not good drivers) and using wrong parameters in cameras (near clipping = 0.01) I have got crashing X :p :p :p


PD. X is the window system, not the operative system (it rocks).

Quote  Report Print Save

nemirc  

Forum Moderator

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Thu, Dec 16, 2004 10:19 am, Edited Thu, Nov 8, 2007 7:04 pm

MSI Starforce GeforceFX 5200 128Mb Driver from manufacturer: 6.14 (comes w CD) Known problems: no hardware alpha output in the hardware render buffer :( during playback with michael 1 (around 60K polys) it runs at no more than 10fps) Pros: the videocard color is red instead of that default green :D

____________________
Sergio Aris ROSA
Renderosity Frontpage news
Animation / Maya / iClone
blog-site :p http://nemirc.wordpress.com

Quote  Report Print Save

Eddepet  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Thu, Mar 24, 2005 9:45 am

At the moment i'm using Hercules Prophet 4000XT tv out.

I want to buy a better card, allthough i am able to work with this card quite well.
Since the last driver update the vertices are very small and difficult to see.

I also wanted to run Studio Tools but that doesn't work with this card.

Quote  Report Print Save

MischiefsChild  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Mar 30, 2005 12:18 am

I cant tell you if I will have any problems with my video card and Maya, none yet but I am less than 1500polys into my first model..

Radeon 9200 SE 128MB
Driver 6.14.10

everything seems ok so far.. I'll let ya know though.

Quote  Report Print Save

viaCreations  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Mon, Jun 13, 2005 3:13 pm

Quadro FX 1300
Driver: 71.84

Works beautifully!

Quote  Report Print Save

bicycle  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Thu, Jun 16, 2005 10:59 pm

NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400

works pretty well for modeling. Rendering - not so good.

thanks for thread Modulok, helps to choose upgrade.

____________________

Quote  Report Print Save

Modulok  Online Now!

Forum Moderator

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Fri, Jun 17, 2005 1:30 pm, Edited Fri, Jun 17, 2005 1:31 pm

Nvidia GeForceFX 6800 Ultra (Manufactured by Gigabyte) - Failed to consistently be stable enough to run Maya for any greater period than about 10 minutes with any currently available driver configuration on the test system.

PaintFX failed to update in the viewport, the majority of the brush outlines failed to update, full system crashes occurred on a regular basis.

The card was later sold due to these complications, and replaced with an older quadro model. All complications have ceased since the replacement.

-Modulok-

Message edited on: 06/17/2005 13:31

____________________
By God, we're gonna do something about nothing.

Quote  Report Print Save

Mizaree  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Sat, Aug 27, 2005 11:41 am

I have SLI dual 6800 ultras 256 on the test scene i get 8 secs but have problems with the batch render with maya and mental ray but if you use geleto it runs fine. and you have some flickers in the views when running live but nothing serious.

Quote  Report Print Save

xyz_equals_3d  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Sat, Sep 10, 2005 1:56 am

I have an NVIDIA G Force 4 MX integrated GPU

The one down fall is that it will not render any particle effects except the ones that say (SR) next to them and it will nto render out any form of Hair or fur that I know of. and No hardware render at all

Quote  Report Print Save

nemirc  

Forum Moderator

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, May 10, 2006 12:45 am

*bump

____________________
Sergio Aris ROSA
Renderosity Frontpage news
Animation / Maya / iClone
blog-site :p http://nemirc.wordpress.com

Quote  Report Print Save

KKnD  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Sun, Jun 11, 2006 11:11 pm

ATI X800pro.

I'm only just putting my toes into the ocean of 3d rendering, but it seems fine to use for my scenes in Maya.

Quote  Report Print Save

binder  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Sun, Jul 16, 2006 8:28 pm

lol...great thread.

vidCard:: ATI Radeon 9550 256mg

Driver::  Don't know, I'm not very techy @ all

problems?:
1. Extreme zooming in on image plane squashes the image,

2. in texture mode ( pressing 6 ) if I rotate, pan or zoom...my objects don't show as textured anymore.....for example, if I have a textured smooth nurbs sphere, if it's moving, ( like animated ) it shows up unsmoothed ( like when you press 1 on the num pad )  but shows good again when I stop it..... WEIRD!!

any help?

 

____________________
How dare you speak to my sensei in that way!!  prepare yourself!

myGallery 

Quote  Report Print Save

ilumminati  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Tue, Jul 25, 2006 12:44 pm

3Dlabs Wildcat Realism 500
Optimized drivers for Maya - runs smooth.

Quote  Report Print Save

Asgorath  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Thu, Jul 27, 2006 10:51 am

Nvidia Geforce 6800GT 256 no problems.

Quote  Report Print Save

XxDarkMessiahxX  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Thu, Nov 8, 2007 4:39 pm

Dual 8800 Ultras. Driver version 163.75. 

No complaints other than being slow as hell editing UVs, but thats not a video card problem, its just Maya,

Quote  Report Print Save

nemirc  

Forum Moderator

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Thu, Nov 8, 2007 7:12 pm

New videocard.

Nvidia Quadro FX 550
version 7.15.11.6369 (downloaded automatically by Windows Vista), september 11 2007

problems: no problems

pros: no trail-artifacts with paint effects, support for "high quality render" in vewports and I can get around 50fps on a low-medium animated character :p

____________________
Sergio Aris ROSA
Renderosity Frontpage news
Animation / Maya / iClone
blog-site :p http://nemirc.wordpress.com

Quote  Report Print Save

rumncoke  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Fri, Nov 9, 2007 12:33 am

quadro fx 1500, forceware 91.36 driver, xp pro os, 4g ram, no paoblems so far


Quote  Report Print Save

mustafa.maya  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Nov 21, 2007 9:22 am

for maya which grapihic cards is best??????????????????????????

Quote  Report Print Save

XxDarkMessiahxX  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Nov 21, 2007 3:47 pm

First of all calm the hell down. Theres no need for 3 posts in 7 minutes.

Second of all, what are you doing primarily in Maya? Modeling, animation, image rendering? It probably won't make a huge difference from card to card if you're doing a lot of modeling, as a $1000+ nVidia Quadro card is going to do pretty much the same as one that costs 1/3 of the price. 

If you're rendering / animating in Mental Ray, and if Im not mistaken, a lot more of the load is going to be put on your computer's processor and memory, so that might be a better investment. 

Even a 8000 series GeForce card with high resolution & a bigger monitor will work, as it will give you more work space, since Maya's interface can get cramped sometimes.

I dont know if you're planning on buying a computer or building a new one or whatever, but if you have the option of a getting a new processor, definately go at least dual core. 

I splurged and dropped a quad core in my new system and did a render test in Mental Ray. My old Pentium 4 3.2 ghz with 2.5 gigs of ram vs. my new QX6800 2.93 ghz with 8 gigs of ram. The same image rendered on my old system would have taken at least 4+ hours. Rendered on my new system in about 50 minutes on extremely high quality settings at 2400x1800 resolution.

Needless to say, the rendering power is worth it. Is the price? Hardly, but I work hard so I can play hard. Prices will drop soon, as new hardware is always making not-so-old hardware obsolete.

Hope this gives you some direction.

Quote  Report Print Save

nemirc  

Forum Moderator

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Nov 21, 2007 6:04 pm

I took the liberty to delete the multiple posts.

@ mustafa.maya: Keep in mind that this is a forum, so people come and go with no real pattern, so there are always chances that nobody else will be around when you post. Questions ARE answered eventually, so there's no need to post multiple messages because you don't get an answer right away.

____________________
Sergio Aris ROSA
Renderosity Frontpage news
Animation / Maya / iClone
blog-site :p http://nemirc.wordpress.com

Quote  Report Print Save

XxDarkMessiahxX  

Homepage »

Stats

Back to Top

Posted Wed, Nov 21, 2007 11:16 pm, Edited Wed, Nov 21, 2007 11:17 pm   (Violence advisory)

I like your avatar nemirc. I once Photoshopped that picture into something even more amoral than the Buddy Christ...



I thought you might enjoy this, but feel free to delete this post, as its obviously off topic.

Quote  Report Print Save

Unread Post(s) Unread Announcement You are a visitor.

You cannot post new threads.
You cannot reply to threads.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
Read Post(s) Read Announcement
Unread Post(s) (Locked) Unread Sticky
Read Post(s) (Locked) Read Sticky
 
Powered by Bondware
Newspaper Software | Email Marketing Tools | E-Commerce Marketplace